Thursday, 5 November 2020

The Five Good Emperors

The five Good Emperors refers to the Roman succession of Nerva (96–98 CE), Trajan (98–117), Hadrian (117–138), Antoninus Pius (138–161), and Marcus Aurelius (161–180).
They presided over the most majestic days of the mighty Roman Empire. After the death of Marcus Aurelius in 180, the empire quickly descended into the chaos of civil war, which was not ended until the assassination of Commodus (193) and the triumph of Septimius Severus. The Roman Empire would never be as great again.


Antoninus Pius

Marcus Aurelius